life · Pregnancy · pregnant · Uncategorized

27 Weeks

So tomorrow marks me officially being in the 3rd trimester.

I can’t believe it. Part of me thinks ‘wow this is going so fast can’t believe I am 27 weeks already’ and then the other part of me thinks ‘Oh god how much longer, I just want to meet my baby’.

Everything is so surreal, you feel the baby moving around inside and you know there is something there, someone growing, but I am yet to meet this person, I am yet to see their face and feel their skin. Life really is magical when you sit back and think about how amazing it is that I am ‘growing’ a human inside me. Really it seems like something from a horror story – something growing inside you.

The feeling though, knowing you are creating something so magical and precious and protecting this tiny person. Nothing can beat that! Ever!

I am feeling movement all the time now, especially when I have eaten. Right little wriggle bum! At this stage I am not really sure how I am meant to be feeling in myself. I am not sure if what I am feeling is normal or if I am over reacting. There are a few things that I am wondering about.

Hunger

I am hungry all the time, well not so much hungry but my appetite is so strong, I can eat constantly and still feel like I need more. However I am getting full very quick, which is not like me, I can eat a big meal and be fine, and however now it’s like I get half way through and I am full. Then 30 minutes later I am hungry again. I just can’t seem to get a handle on it. At work I have took to ‘grazing’ so having small snack type things all day. Just something small like apples, yogurts, juices, popcorn, things like that and then I have something small for my lunch. I feel that helps slightly because it is like I am having something all day, therefore settling my appetite but also not eating large meals that make me feel bloated.

Tiredness

I had a few weeks where I was full of energy and completely alive and ready to do anything. Then that stopped and it felt like I hit a brick wall. I sit at my desk at work and I can feel my eye closing and my energy dragging. I am not sure what to do for the best, I can’t take a nap at work – although I would love to – and I can’t take time off work, because I need the money. 6 weeks tomorrow I will be starting my maternity leave, and I will be able to focus more on my health and wellbeing.

Weight

I have said before how I am overweight and I had to be seen by the ‘Health and Wellbeing Clinic’ who told me not to put on too much weight and eat healthy and do some light exercise. Well I have been eating relatively healthy and trying not to put on too much, which I haven’t. I have done really well to be honest. I have put on weight yes, but I can’t exactly help that. But it could have been much worse, and actually most of the weight has been in the last few weeks. Up until that point I hadn’t put on much weight and then all of a sudden the weight started to creep up. To be honest it is stressing me out – unnecessarily- because I am panicking for no reason, I feel like I should be proud that it isn’t more, it could have been much worse, yes I know it could have been better. However it is what it is. I am aware of it now and I am trying to improve it. The only thing I could do more of is exercise, at the minute though that seems a little hard. There is so much going on at home, I am trying to find any time to do something, however most of the time I am so tired that I just want to have a bath and go to sleep. I am trying, and that is all I can do.

I just want to point out that I am not moaning about all this, I am simply expressing what is going on. This is a magical time and I am over the moon to be experiencing this miracle that is having a child. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

The love I have already for this unborn child is beyond anything I could ever express. There simply aren’t enough words to explain how I feel. I feel honoured and excited to be going through this.

Leave a Reply

